Degree, Joint Degree, Summer, and Exchange Programs

Degree Programs

The Law School offers three academic degrees. The Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree is the first degree in law, and requires a bachelor's or equivalent degree for admission. For those who have already earned a J.D., the Master of Laws (LL.M.) degree is offered as both a general program and in a number of specialized areas. On occasion, LL.M. graduates are admitted to the Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.) degree program.

Joint Degrees

GW Law offers joint degree programs with four other schools of The George Washington University. Joint degree programs are available to both J.D. and LL.M. candidates.

Summer Programs On-Campus & Abroad

Summer programs are available to students both on-campus and abroad. The on-campus summer program is available to both GW Law students and students from other law schools. In addition, summer programs are held in Oxford (international human rights law), Munich (intellectual property Law), and Augsburg, Germany (European law).

Exchange Program

GW Law is a member of the North American Consortium on Legal Education (NACLE), an exchange program for J.D. students between U.S., Canadian, and Mexican law schools. GW Law also has exchange programs with the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, and the Università Commerciale "Luigi Bocconi" in Milan, Italy.

Spotlight Item

GW Law Portal Apply