Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr.

Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr.

Title: Professor of Law; Executive Director, C-LEAF

Address: 2000 H Street, N.W, Washington, DC 20052
Telephone: 202.994.6386
Fax: 202.994.9446

B.A., Yale University; J.D., Harvard University

Biographical Sketch
Professor Wilmarth joined the faculty in 1986, following 11 years in private law practice. Prior to joining the Law School, he was a partner in the Washington, DC, office of the Jones Day law firm. Professor Wilmarth teaches courses in banking law, contracts, corporations, and American constitutional history. He has served as Executive Director of the Law School’s Center for Law, Economics and Finance (C-LEAF) since 2011, and served on C-LEAF’s Executive Board since the center was founded in 2009.

He is the author of more than thirty articles and book chapters in the fields of banking law and American constitutional history, and he is co-author of a book on corporate law. In 2005, the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers awarded him its prize for the best law review article published in the field of consumer financial services law during the previous year.

Professor Wilmarth has testified before committees of the U.S. Congress, the California legislature, and the DC Council on bank regulatory issues. In 2010, he was a consultant to the Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission, the body established by Congress to report on the causes of the financial crisis. During 2008–09, he served as Chair of the Section on Financial Institutions and Consumer Financial Services of the Association of American Law Schools, after serving as the Section's chair-elect and annual program chair during 2007–08. Professor Wilmarth is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Banking Regulation, published by Palgrave Macmillan Ltd. He is also a member of the advisory board of the American Antitrust Institute.

Professor Wilmarth was a member of the University's Faculty Senate
from 1998 to 2012, and he served as chair of the Faculty Senate's
Executive Committee in 2004–05 and 2008–09. In 2005, he received the Trachtenberg Prize for University Service. In 2006, he served as one of three faculty representatives on the Board of Trustees’ search committee that selected Steven Knapp as the 16th president of The George Washington University. In 2009, he served as the Law School’s elected representative on the search committee that chose Steven Lerman as the University’s new Provost.

Related Links
Areas of Expertise
Scholarly Commons Page
Social Sciences Research Network