Judicial Process and the Protection of Rights:
The U.S. Supreme Court and the European Court of Human Rights

Thursday, March 1, 2012

GW Law is pleased to host this historic event in cooperation with the U.S. Department of State's Office of the Legal Adviser.

Please be advised that the first session is open to the public, including the media. Registration is now closed.

Attendees must have a designated name badges to be admitted. All other sessions are by invitation only.

Jack Morton Auditorium
Media and Public Affairs Building
800 21st Street NW
Washington, DC  20052

Parking Information

8 am

8:30 am
Welcome Remarks

Paul Schiff Berman, Dean and Robert Kramer Research Professor of Law, GW Law
Harold Hongju Koh, Legal Adviser, U.S. Department of State

8:45 am
Session 1: The ECtHR's and the U.S. Supreme Court's Roles within their Judicial and Political Systems

Chair: David Fontana, Associate Professor of Law, GW Law

Justice Stephen Breyer, U.S. Supreme Court
Judge Lech Garlicki, European Court of Human Rights
Harold Hongju Koh, Legal Adviser, U.S. Department of State
J. Christopher McCrudden, Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, Queen's University Belfast; William W. Cook Global Law Professor, University of Michigan Law School
Derek Walton, Legal Counsellor to the U.K. Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Closed Sessions:
The George Washington University Law School

Institutional Challenges
Freedom of Expression

Members of the European Court of Human Rights
Justices and Officials of the U.S. Supreme Court
Samantha Besson, Professor, Fribourg University
Sujit Choudhry, Cecelia Goetz Professor of Law, New York University School of Law
Sarah Cleveland, Louis Henkin Professor in Human and Constitutional Rights, Columbia Law School
Laura Dickinson, Oswald Symister Colclough Research Professor of Law, GW Law
Nazila Ghanea, University Lecturer in International Human Rights Law, Oxford University 
Laurence Helfer, Harry R. Chadwick, Sr. Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law
Sean Murphy, Patricia Roberts Harris Research Professor of Law, GW Law
Frederick Schauer, David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law 
Dinah Shelton, Manatt/Ahn Professor of International Law, GW Law
Ralph Steinhardt, Professor of Law and International Affairs; Arthur Selwyn Miller Research Professor of Law, GW Law
Mark Tushnet, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

GW Law Portal Apply