2013 Junior Faculty Workshop

On April 5–6, 2013, C-LEAF hosted its third annual Junior Faculty Business and Financial Law Workshop and Junior Faculty Scholarship Prizes. The Workshop supports and recognizes the work of young legal scholars in accounting, banking, bankruptcy, corporations, economics, finance, and securities, while promoting interaction among them and selected senior faculty. By providing a forum for the exchange of creative ideas in these areas, C-LEAF also aims to encourage new and innovative scholarship.

In response to the Call for Papers, C-LEAF received many submissions for the Workshop representing junior scholars from around the nation and the globe. Twelve papers were selected for presentation at the Workshop. The authors of the selected papers (along with their school affiliation) are:

Hilary Allen, Loyola
Peter Conti-Brown, Stanford
Diane Dick, Seattle
Kathryn Judge, Columbia
Benjamin Means, South Carolina
Haskell Murray, Regent
Elizabeth Pollman, Loyola
Georg Ringe, Oxford
Christina Sautter, Louisiana State
Nicola Sharpe, Illinois
A. Joseph Warburton, Syracuse
Del Wright, Valparaiso

2013 Prize Recipients

At the conclusion of the Workshop, four papers were awarded Junior Faculty Scholarship Prizes, of $3,000, $2,000, and $1,000, respectively. Paper prize winners were:

Kathryn Judge ($3,000 prize)

Elizabeth Pollman ($2,000 prize)

Peter Conti-Brown and George Ringe (tie for $1,000 prize)

View event photos

Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP, one of the leading law firms serving the financial services industry and known for its premier practice in the area of private investment funds and private equity M&A, generously sponsors the Junior Faculty Scholarship Workshop and Prizes and provides other financial assistance to C-LEAF.

Spotlight Item: GW's Center for Law, Economics & Finance

GW's Center for Law, Economics & Finance

GW Law Portal Apply