GW Law's 5th Annual PTAB Roundtable

Panelists sitting at the roundtable discussing various PTAB topics.
November 16, 2022

GW Law's Intellectual Property Program hosted its 5th annual PTAB Roundtable.

The moderated roundtable featured several speakers including, Honorable Jacqueline Bonilla, United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO); Honorable Kathleen O'Malley, U.S. Court of Appeals; Honorable Magistrate Judge Christopher Burke, District of Delaware; Andrei Iancu, Irell & Manella and former Director of of the USPTO; Joshua Salzman, U.S. Department of Justice; Molly Silfen, U.S. Senate; Matt Anderson, Medtronic; Erika Arner, Finnegan; Tim Fink, O'Melveny & Myers; Rayiner Hashem, MoloLamken; Emily Johnson, Amgen; David Jones, HTIA; Kevin Laurence, Laurence & Philips; Naveen Modi, Paul Hastings; Lissi Mojica, Answers IP; and Johnathan Stroud, Unified Patents. The discussion was co-moderated by David Cavanaugh, WilmerHale, and John M. Whealan, GW Law.

The roundtable covered topics including, developments in the use of director discretion at the PTAB, the interplay between district court proceedings and the PTAB, the development of strategies for successfully advancing and defending inter parties reviews, in-house counsel experience and perspectives, policy considerations, and the potential for additional legislation affecting the post-grant activities. 

Panelists Matt Anderson commented afterward, "you've developed a unique forum to discuss complex topics in a balanced way, so I hope this will carry on in future years."