Intellectual Property & Technology Law Advisory Council

The Intellectual Property & Technology Law Council provides counsel and support to ensure the Intellectual Property Law Program’s preeminence in all areas, including curriculum, research, extracurricular activities, career development, and alumni relations. Its members are leading attorneys, judges, and government officials in the field of intellectual property law.

Michael McKeon

"GW Law's Intellectual Property Law Program has consistently been recognized for its strong faculty, innovative research, and experiential opportunities. These resources enabled me to receive an outstanding education during my time as a student. Serving on the Intellectual Property Advisory Board reconnects me with these valuable resources and provides meaningful relationships with IP thought-leaders in government, academia, and industry."



Michael J. McKeon, JD '96

Chair, Intellectual Property Advisory Board

Intellectual Property & Technology Law Advisory Council


Michael J. McKeon, JD '96
Fish & Richardson, PC

Chairman Emeritus

C. Larry O'Rourke, JD '71 

Members of the Council

Jack S. Barufka, LLM '96
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP

Steven E. Feldman, JD '95 
Hahn Loeser & Parks, LLP 

John S. Goetz, Esq. #421247 
Fish & Richardson

Michael F. Heim, JD '87
Heim, Payne & Chorush, LLP

Otto B. Licks, LLM '95
Licks & Advogados

John D. Murnane, JD '79
Venable, LLP

The Honorable Ralph Oman
The George Washington University Law School

Justin E. Pierce, JD '00
Venable, LLP

Louis T. Pirkey, JD '64
Pirkey Barber, PLLC

Donald E. Stout, JD '72
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery, LLP

Jonathan T. Suder, JD '84
Friedman, Suder & Cooke, PC

B. J. Watrous,  Jr.
Apple, Inc.

James R. Whittle, JD ’16 

Members Emeriti

Brian Brunsvold, JD '67

Richard L. Donaldson, LLM '73

The Honorable Marybeth Peters, JD '71

The Honorable Randall R. Rader, JD '78

James R. Sims, III, JD '86
Turning Path Solutions, LLC, Law Offices of James Sims, III

Michael O. Warnecke, JD '67
Perkins Coie, LLP

Faculty Leadership

Robert Brauneis
The George Washington University Law School

John Whealan
The George Washington University Law School