Academic Calendar

2022-2023 Academic Year Calendar

Fall 2022    
August 15-19 Monday-Friday MSL Orientation
August 16-19 Tuesday-Friday

Orientation

  • International LLM and Exchange (Wednesday-Friday)
  • Transfer (Tuesday & Wednesday)
  • 1L Evening (Tuesday & Thursday)
  • 1L Day (Thursday & Friday)
August 22 Monday Classes begin for 1L, International LLM students and MSL students enrolled in 1L courses and/or Fundamental Issues in U.S. Law
August 26 Friday First day of Add/Drop and U.S. LLM Orientation
August 29 Monday Classes begin for 2L, 3L, 4L, U.S. LLM students, and MSL students not enrolled in 1L courses or Fundamental Issues in U.S. Law
September 5 Monday Labor Day holiday (no classes) and Last day of Add/Drop
September 6 Tuesday Last day of Add/Drop
September 19 Monday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
October 17 Monday 1L Reading Period
October 18 Tuesday 1L Mid-Term Exams
October 19-21 Wednesday-Friday 1L Fall Recess
November 22 Tuesday Constructive Friday (all Friday classes)
November 23-25 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Recess
December 1 Thursday Last Day of Fall Semester classes
December 2-5 Friday-Monday Reading period or snow days
December 6-16 Tuesday-Friday Examination period

 

Spring 2023    
January 5-6 Thursday-Friday Transfer (Thursday), LLM, and MSL Orientation: For new students only
January 6 Friday First day of Add/Drop
January 9 Monday Classes Begin for all students
January 15 Sunday Last day of Add/Drop
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (no classes)
January 30 Monday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday holiday (no classes)
March 13-17 Monday-Friday Spring Recess (no classes)
April 18 Tuesday Constructive Monday (all Monday classes held); last day of classes
April 19-21 Wednesday-Friday Reading period or snow days
April 24-May 5 Monday-Friday Examination period
May 21 Sunday University Commencement and Law School Diploma Ceremony

 

Summer 2023    
May 22 Monday All classes begin; first day of Add/Drop – In Records Office
May 26 Friday Last Day for Add/Drop – In Records Office
May 29 Monday Memorial Day holiday (no classes)
June 2 Friday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
June 19 Monday Juneteenth National Independence Day (no classes)
July 4 Tuesday Fourth of July holiday observed (no classes)
July 10 Monday Last day of most classes (See schedule)
July 18-20 Tuesday-Thursday Examination period

Printable 2022-2023 Academic Year Calendar (PDF)

Fall 2023    
August 14-18 Monday-Friday MSL Orientation
August 15-18 Tuesday-Friday

Orientation

  • International LLM and Exchange (Wednesday-Friday)
  • Transfer (Tuesday & Wednesday)
  • 1L Evening (Tuesday & Thursday)
  • 1L Day (Thursday & Friday)
August 21 Monday Classes begin for 1L, International LLM students and MSL students enrolled in 1L courses and/or Fundamental Issues in U.S. Law
August 25 Friday First day of Add/Drop and U.S. LLM Orientation
August 28 Monday Classes begin for 2L, 3L, 4L, U.S. LL.M. students, and M.S.L. students not enrolled in 1L courses or Fundamental Issues in U.S. Law
September 4 Monday Labor Day holiday (no classes)
September 5 Tuesday Last day of Add/Drop
September 18 Monday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
October 16 Monday 1L Reading Period
October 17 Tuesday 1L Mid-Term Exams
October 18-20 Wednesday-Friday 1L Fall Recess
November 21 Tuesday Constructive Friday (all Friday classes held)
November 22-24 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Recess
November 30 Thursday Last Day of Fall Semester classes
December 1-3 Friday-Sunday Reading period
December 4-15 Monday-Thursday Examination period
December 15 Friday Examination Make-Up Day

 

Spring 2024    
January 4-5 Thursday-Friday Transfer (Thursday), LLM, and MSL Orientation: For new students only
January 5 Friday First day of Add/Drop
January 8 Monday Classes Begin for all students
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (no classes)
January 16 Tuesday Last day of Add/Drop
January 29 Monday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday holiday (no classes)
March 11-15 Monday-Thursday Spring Recess (no classes)
April 16 Tuesday Constructive Monday (all Monday classes held); last day of classes
April 17-28 Wednesday-Thursday Reading period
April 19-May 2 Friday-Thursday Examination period
May 3 Friday Examination Make-Up Day
May 19 Sunday University Commencement and Law School Diploma Ceremony

 

Summer 2024    
May 20 Monday All classes begin; first day of Add/Drop
May 24 Friday Last Day for Add/Drop – In Records Office
May 27 Monday Memorial Day holiday (no classes)
May 31 Friday Last day for Credit/No Credit Option
June 19 Wednesday Juneteenth National Independence Day (no classes)
July 4 Thursday Fourth of July holiday (no classes)
July 8 Monday Last day of most classes (See schedule)
July 16-18 Tuesday-Thursday Examination period

The law school academic calendar is updated frequently throughout the year. Please visit the records office for updates, complete semester details, and academic calendar supplements.