Dean's Advisory Council

The Dean's Advisory Council provides the dean with the advice and assistance of individuals whose experiences offer a variety of perspectives on the legal profession in order to advance the quality and standing of the Law School. The Council consists of alumni and members of the legal community at the highest level of their fields.

Corinne Ball

"As a proud alumna of GW Law, I am honored to chair the Dean’s Advisory Council. The Council is comprised of alumni and accomplished legal professionals who provide the Dean with expert advice on a variety of issues. Serving on the Council provides intimate access to the Dean and all of the valuable resources that GW Law has to offer."



Corinne Ball

Chair, Dean's Advisory Council

Advisory Council


Corinne Ball, JD ‘78
Jones Day

Chairmen Emeriti

David R. Berz, BA '70, JD '73
Weil, Gotshal & Manges, LLP

Richard W. Blackburn, JD '67

Douglas E. Davidson, JD '71

Darrell L. Dreher, JD '73
Dreher Tomkies, LLP

Jonathan S. Kahan, BA '70, JD '73
Hogan & Lovells US, LLP

Members of the Council

Raymond Banoun, JD '68
Banoun Law, PLLC

Charles A. Berardesco, JD '83

Weston D. Burnett, JD '75, LLM '83
Creative Planning, Inc.

Daniel Thomas Donovan, JD '96 
Kirkland & Ellis, LLP 

Sunny S. Dupree, JD '68

David B. Falk, JD '75

Deborah Gersh, JD '83 
Ropes & Gray, LLP 

The Honorable Steven M. Goldman, JD '76
PBM Capital Group

John S. Jenkins, Jr., JD '94
TE Connectivity, LTD.

Jeffrey I. Kohn, JD '84
O’Melveny & Myers, LLP

Arthur F. Lafionatis, JD '80
Law Offices of Arthur F. Lafionatis, PC

John Lewis, Jr.
Shook, Hardy & Bacon, LLP

Seth H. Lundy, JD '96
King & Spalding, LLP  

David K. Moskowitz, JD '83
DISH Network Corporation

Earle H. O’Donnell, JD '75 

Robert L. Patron, JD '98

Edwin L. Phelps, JD '68
Phelps Enterprises International

Daniel C. Schwartz, JD '69
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, LLP

Teresa M. Schwartz, JD '71
The George Washington University Law School

Jeff Schweon, JD '89
Williams Jones Wealth Management, LLC

Barry A. Shenkman
Jacob Burns Foundation

The Hon. Thomas F. Smegal, Jr., JD '61
Law Offices of Thomas Smegal

Ira L. Sorkin, JD '68
Mintz & Gold, LLP

Karen O. Stempel, JD '82
Lexolution, LLC

Scott C. Taylor, JD '92
Symantex Corporation

Stephen N. Young, JD '84
Ernst & Young, LLP

Members Emeriti

Kenneth E. Adelsberg, JD ‘79

The Hon. William P. Barr, JD '77

Mark H. Chichester, JD '93
Atlas Research

Gary C. Granoff, BBA '69, JD '73 
Granoff, Walker & Forlenza, PC

Jonathan L. Greenblatt, JD '80
Shearman & Sterling LLP

Franklin L. Haney, LLB '65
Franklin Haney Company

The Hon. James F. Humphreys, JD '78
James F. Humphreys & Associates

Thomas L. Mills, JD '75
Mills Black, LLP

William J. Mutryn, II, JD '75
Bluestone Investment Partners

Lisa M. Owen, JD '84
LV Adhesive, Inc.

The Honorable Gerald Rosen, JD '79

Mary L. Schapiro, JD '80
Promontory Financial Group, LLC

William H. Shawn, BA '70, JD '73
Shawn Coulson International Lawyers

The Honorable John W. Snow, JD '67
JWS Associates, LLC

Douglas M. Steenland, JD '76
AlG, Inc.