2019 Van Vleck Constitutional Law Moot Court Finals

2019 Van Vleck Finalists

The Finalists 

The 2019 Van Vleck finals will feature 3Ls Stephanie Hansen and Julia Sweeney, representing the petitioner, against 2Ls Natalie Goldberg and Anastasia Hautanen for the respondent. This is only the fourth time in our recorded history that all four finalists are female, something of which we are particularly proud. Finalists will be arguing before a bench including The Hon. John Bush, US Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; The Hon. Gregory Katsas, U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit; and The Hon. Joan Larsen, US Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

The Problem

Thanks to the hard work of Alan Morrison - and student authors Madeline Smedley and Tazia Statucki - we have a very challenging problem this year.  It is based on a hypothetical federal statute that criminalizes revenge pornography. Competitors will analyze and argue two separate issues. The first deals with the authority to enact the statute under the Commerce Clause. The second issue addresses whether the statute infringes on the First Amendment right to freedom of speech. 

The Agenda

Thursday, January 24, 2019  

1:30 - 3:30 pm: Finals in the Marvin Center Betts Theater, 800 21st St NW, Washington, DC 20052 

Doors will open at 1 pm.  Out of respect for the competitors, the doors will close at 1:35 pm.

All tickets have been distributed. In an attempt to accommodate as many prospective attendees as possible, general admission seats will be held for attendees with tickets until 1:25 pm after which point any non-ticketed individuals will be allowed to enter. A line will be established outside the Betts Theater starting at 1 pm for non-ticketed individuals.