Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr.

Arthur Wilmarth, Jr.
Professor of Law
2000 H Street, NW
Washington, District Of Columbia 20052
United States
[email protected]

Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr. joined the faculty in 1986, after 11 years in private law practice. Prior to joining GW Law, he was a partner in the Washington, DC, office of Jones Day. Professor Wilmarth teaches courses in banking law, contracts, corporations, professional responsibility, and American constitutional history. He served as Executive Director of the Center for Law, Economics & Finance from 2011 to 2014.

Professor Wilmarth is the author of Taming the Megabanks: Why We Need a New Glass-Steagall Act (Oxford University Press, 2020) (forthcoming), and co-editor of The Panic of 2008: Causes, Consequences, and Implications for Reform (Edward Elgar, 2010). He has published more than 40 law review articles and book chapters in the fields of banking law and American constitutional history. In 2005, the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers awarded him its prize for the best law review article published in the field of consumer financial services law during the previous year.

Professor Wilmarth has testified before committees of the US Congress, the California legislature, and the DC Council on bank regulatory issues. In 2010, he was a consultant to the Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission, the body established by Congress to report on the causes of the financial crisis. During 2008-2009, he served as Chair of the Section on Financial Institutions and Consumer Financial Services for the Association of American Law Schools, after serving as the Section's Chair-Elect and Annual Program Chair during 2007-2008. Professor Wilmarth is a member of the international advisory board of the Journal of Banking Regulation, published by Palgrave Macmillan Ltd. He is also a member of the advisory board of the American Antitrust Institute.

Professor Wilmarth was a member of the GW's Faculty Senate for 16 years. He served as Chair of the Faculty Senate's Executive Committee in 2004-2005 and 2008-2009. He was a long-time member of the Faculty Senate’s Committee on Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom and chaired that Committee for several years. He received the Trachtenberg Prize for University Service in 2005.




BA, Yale University; JD, Harvard University